Will this ‘finally’ be the year? Cubs lead all in Fall Classic futility

At this point, Cubs fans can only laugh about the years of frustration.

J. Meric/Getty Images

It can’t be easy being a Chicago Cubs fan.

Their loveable Cubbies haven’t won a World Series since 1908.

Meanwhile, the Arizona Diamondbacks, who started play in 1998, won it all in 2001, while the Florida/Miami Marlins, who were born in ‘93, won the World Series not once, but twice — in 1997 and 2003.

The Cubs haven’t even been to the World Series since 1945 — when they lost to the Detroit Tigers in seven games.

Heck, the Tampa Bay Rays (born in ’98) and the Colorado Rockies (born in ’93) at least have made it to the Fall Classic, losing in 2008 and ’07, respectively.

Of the 30 current major-league teams, eight have never won the Commissioner’s Trophy. Six at least appeared, while the Montreal Expos/Washington Nationals franchise (established in 1969) and the Seattle Mariners (established in ’77) have yet to win a league pennant. …

… But they’re much, much younger than Cubs.

The chart below displays the 10 longest World Series droughts. … At least the Cleveland Indians, whose last World Series title came in 1948, can thank the Cubs for holding the current record of futility.