Kennedy picked as opening-day starter for D-backs

Ian Kennedy has been selected as the Arizona Diamondbacks’

opening-day starter.

Manager Kirk Gibson made the announcement Monday. He also says

the right-hander is going to be followed in the rotation by righty

Trevor Cahill, left-hander Wade Miley and free-agent signee Brandon


Arizona opens the seasons on April 1 at home against the St.

Louis Cardinals.

Kennedy was 15-12 with a 4.02 ERA last year after winning 21

games in 2011. He joins Randy Johnson, Curt Schilling and Brandon

Webb as the only Diamondbacks to have back-to-back 15-win


Cahill was 13-12 with a 3.78 ERA last year. Miley finished

second to Washington’s Bryce Harper for NL Rookie of the Year after

winning 16 games last year.