CWS set as Virginia, Ole Miss and TCU round out 8-team field

Mississippi's Josh Laxer celebrates at the end of Monday's super regional game against Louisiana-Lafayette in Lafayette, La. Ole Miss punched its first ticket to the College World Series since 1972.

Thomas Graning/AP

Ole Miss punched its first ticket to the College World Series since 1972 on Monday, joining Virginia, TCU, Vanderbilt, Louisville, Texas Tech, UC Irvine and Texas to round out the eight-team field.

"I didn’t think it would take this long," said Ole Miss coach Mike Bianco, who’s in his 14th year at the school. "I want these kids to enjoy this. A lot has been said about me, but this is their moment. That is one of the great things about being a coach is being able to share this moment with kids like this."

Irvine will face Texas and Louisville takes on Vanderbilt on Saturday in Omaha in the opener of the double-elimination round. Texas Tech takes on TCU and Virginia faces Ole Miss on Sunday.

A suicide squeeze by No. 9 batter Kyle Bacak in the ninth pushed TCU past Pepperdine 6-5 on Monday, while Ole Miss advanced with a 10-4 win over Louisiana-Lafayette. Virginia routed Maryland 11-2 to reach the World Series for the third time in six seasons.

Check out photos from Monday’s super regional finales.

Louisville is the only returning team. UCLA won the championship last year, beating Mississippi State in two games.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.