Two Cardinals affiliates among 42 minor league teams targeted for elimination

Two minor league affiliates of the St. Louis Cardinals are among 42 minor league teams identified by Major League Baseball as targets to be dropped from their current circuits.

The teams are listed in an initial proposal for a revised Professional Baseball Agreement that would start in 2021, the season after the current PBA between Major League Baseball and minor league clubs expires. The plan would reduce the number of minor league clubs from 160 to 118.

The Cardinals affiliates on the list are the State College Spikes of the New York-Penn League (Class A Short Season) and Johnson City Cardinals of the Appalachian League (Rookie Advanced).

The 42 teams targeted for elimination (current major league affiliation in parentheses):


Eastern League: Binghamton, N.Y. (New York Mets); Erie, Pa. (Detroit)

Southern League: Chattanooga, Tenn. (Cincinnati); Jackson, Tenn. (Arizona)

Class A Advanced

California League: Lancaster (Colorado)

Carolina League: Frederick, Md. (Baltimore)

Florida State League: Daytona (Cincinnati); Kissimmee (Atlanta)

Class A

Midwest League: Burlington, Iowa (Los Angeles Angels); Clinton, Iowa (Miami); Quad Cities, Iowa (Houston)

South Atlantic League: Charleston, W.Va. (Seattle); Hagerstown, Md. (Washington); Lexington, Ky. (Kansas City)

Class A Short Season

New York-Penn League: Auburn, N.Y. (Washington); Batavia, N.Y. (Miami); Lowell, Mass. (Boston); Mahoning Valley, Ohio (Cleveland); Norwich, Conn. (Detroit); State College, Pa. (St. Louis); Staten Island, N.Y. (New York Yankees); Vermont (Oakland); Williamsport, Pa. (Philadelphia)

Northwest League: Salem-Keizer, Ore. (San Francisco); Tri-City, Wash. (San Diego)

Rookie Advanced

Appalachian League: Bluefield, W. Va. (Toronto); Bristol, Va. (Pittsburgh); Burlington, N.C. (Kansas City); Danville, Va. (Atlanta); Elizabethton, Tenn. (Minnesota); Greeneville, Tenn. (Cincinnati); Johnson City, Tenn. (St. Louis); Kingsport, Tenn. (New York Mets); Princeton, W. Va. (Tampa Bay)

Pioneer League: Billings, Mont. (Cincinnati); Grand Junction, Colo. (Colorado); Great Falls, Mont. (Chicago White Sox); Idaho Falls (Kansas City); Missoula, Mont. (Arizona); Ogden, Utah (Los Angeles Dodgers); Orem, Utah (Los Angeles Angels); Rocky Mountain, Colo. (Milwaukee)