K-State’s Brown and Wade, KU’s Lawson make AP All-Big 12 first team

Kansas State's Barry Brown Jr. (5) and Dean Wade (32) and Kansas' Dedric Lawson are first-team All-Big 12 picks.
Kevin Jairaj - Denny Medley/USA TODAY Sports

FORT WORTH, Texas — Kansas junior forward Dedric Lawson and Kansas State senior guard Barry Brown Jr. were unanimous selections to The Associated Press All-Big 12 first team. K-State senior forward Dean Wade also was a first-team pick.

Lawson was the league’s top scorer (19.1 points per game) and rebounder (10.6) and Brown averaged 15.1 points while leading the Big 12 with 2.0 steals per game.

Lawson and Brown were joined by Texas Tech sophomore guard Jarrett Culver as the only players listed on all 18 ballots from a panel of journalists who regularly cover the Big 12 in the league’s five states.

Culver (18.3 points, 6.2 rebounds) was selected as Big 12 player of the year after helping lead his hometown Red Raiders to a share of the regular season conference title.

Chris Beard was named coach of the year after his third season with the Red Raiders, who are 26-5 after going to their first NCAA Elite Eight last year. Seventh-ranked Texas Tech won its first Big 12 regular-season title, sharing the crown with No. 15 Kansas State.

Iowa State senior guard Marial Shayok was the other first-team pick.

Culver got 14 votes for AP player of the year. The remaining four votes went to Lawson, the former transfer from Memphis who got 12 of 18 votes to be named Big 12 newcomer of the year.

Beard was picked as coach of the year on 15 ballots.

Makai Mason, the first graduate transfer ever to play for Baylor, led the AP second-team picks. The other second-teamers were Texas freshman forward Jaxson Hayes, Texas Tech sophomore guard Davide Moretti and TCU teammates Desmond Bane and Alex Robinson.