Esky wins first Gold Glove; Hosmer, Perez add to their collections

Royals 2015 Gold Glove winners Alcides Escobar, Eric Hosmer and Salvador Perez.

Jeff Curry - Brad Penner - John Rieger

For the third straight year, three Kansas City Royals are American League Gold Glove winners. But it’s not the same group of winners — not entirely.

The awards were voted on by AL managers and coaches and honor the best individual fielding performances at each position in the league.

Escobar became the first Royals shortstop to receive the honor. He led AL shortstops with an .832 zone rating, while he was third in fielding percentage (.980) and third in range factor per game (4.28). He committed just 13 errors in 1,306 2/3 innings, which were tied for second-fewest among the league’s shortstops who played at least 1,200 innings at the position in 2015. The 28-year-old was a finalist for a Gold Glove each of the previous two seasons and since the start of 2013 he’s tied for the most games (468), ranks second in assists (1,252), second in zone rating (.814) and third in fielding percentage (.978) among AL shortstops.

Hosmer became the first AL first baseman to win in three consecutive years since Rafael Palmeiro (1997-99). He is the only Royals first baseman to be honored with a Gold Glove. The 26-year-old tied for the league lead in fielding percentage (.997), committing just four errors in 1,366 chances during the regular season. He also led AL first basemen in total chances (1,366), putouts (1,261), assists (101) and double plays (121).

Perez became the first AL catcher to win in three consecutive seasons since Joe Mauer (2008-10). He and Bob Boone (1989) are the only Royals catchers to win the award. Salvy led AL catchers in games played (139) for the second consecutive season, while his 422 games behind the plate since the start of 2013 are the most in the majors and 50 more than St. Louis’ Yadier Molina (372), who ranks second in that span. In 2015, Perez also led the league in total chances (1,068), assists (90) and pickoffs by a catcher (four). He also tied for third, throwing out 24 would-be basestealers, with his total over the last three seasons (70) ranking second in the major leagues.

The trio of winners gives the Royals 29 Rawlings Gold Gloves honorees in franchise history, with 13 different players honored. Below is a list of the 29 Royals Rawlings Gold Glove winners:

1971 — Amos Otis (OF)

1973 — Amos Otis (OF)

1974 — Amos Otis (OF)

1977 — Al Cowens (OF), Frank White (2B)

1978 — Frank White (2B)

1979 — Frank White (2B)

1980 — Frank White (2B), Willie Wilson (OF)

1981 — Frank White (2B)

1982 — Frank White (2B)

1985 — George Brett (3B)

1986 — Frank White (2B)

1987 — Frank White (2B)

1989 — Bob Boone (C), Bret Saberhagen (P)

2000 — Jermaine Dye (OF)

2006 — Mark Grudzielanek (2B)

2011 — Alex Gordon (OF)

2012 — Alex Gordon (OF)

2013 — Alex Gordon (OF), Eric Hosmer (1B), Salvador Perez (C)

2014 — Alex Gordon (OF), Eric Hosmer (1B), Salvador Perez (C)

2014 — Alcides Escobar (SS), Eric Hosmer (1B), Salvador Perez (C)