101 Committee tabs Andy Reid as Coach of the Year

Coach Andy Reid led the Chiefs to a nine-game improvement and a playoff berth in his first season in KC.

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Chiefs coach Andy Reid, who engineered an astounding turnaround in 2013, has been chosen as the AFC Coach of the Year by the 101 Committee, a Kansas City civic organization.

Reid will be honored at the 44th annual 101 Awards dinner on March 1 at the Westin Crown Center. Paul Burmeister of the NFL Network and Rich Gannon of CBS Sports will emcee the event.

The NFC Coach of the Year honor went to Carolina’s Ron Rivera.

Reid, in his first year in Kansas City, took a 2-14 team and guided the Chiefs to an 11-5 mark and a playoff berth. The Chiefs fell 45-44 in the first round of the playoffs to the Colts.

Rivera’s Panthers went 12-4 before bowing to San Francisco in the playoffs.

The other winners, as voted by a panel of 101 broadcasters and sportswriters who cover the NFL: Peyton Manning (Broncos), AFC Offensive Player of the Year; Robert Mathis (Colts), AFC Defensive Player of the Year; LeSean McCoy (Eagles), NFC Offensive Player of the Year; Luke Kuechly (Panthers), NFC Defensive Player of the Year.

You can follow Jeffrey Flanagan on Twitter @jflanagankc or email jeffreyflanagan6@gmail.com.