After stellar year, jockey Borel wins Woolf Award

Two-time Kentucky Derby winner Calvin Borel has won the George

Woolf Memorial Award, given to a rider whose career and personal

character honor thoroughbred racing.

The award announced Saturday was decided in voting by the

nation’s jockeys for the 61st year.

Borel had the finest year of his 33-year career in 2009, riding

50-1 Mine That Bird in a Kentucky Derby victory and Horse of the

Year Rachel Alexandra to historic wins in the Preakness Stakes and

several other marquee races.

The 43-year-old Louisiana native also won the 2007 Kentucky

Derby with Street Sense.

The Woolf award will be presented in late March or early April

at Santa Anita, where Woolf starred as a rider in the 1940s.

FOX Fantasy Auto Form a Racing Team, Compete for Prizes
Play Now!