PGA Tour player DQ’d after hitting himself in the head with his putter

Zac Blair was disqualified from the Wells Fargo Championship early on Friday and the reason behind it is both hilarious and strange. On the fifth hole, Blair missed a putt and was upset with himself. He proceeded to hit himself in the head with his putter, which bent it. Not thinking anything of it, Blair finished the hole, which is a no-no.

According to Rule 4-3b, a golfer isn’t allowed to use or replace a club that was intentionally damaged, which his putter was. Blair took to Twitter to explain why he was disqualified.

There’s no video of Blair bashing himself over the head with his putter, but the Woody Austin GIF above paints a pretty clear picture. The disqualification likely didn’t cost Blair anything as he was 7-over at the time and probably would have missed the cut anyway. At least he has a funny story to tell now.