Furyk player of year for first time

Jim Furyk was awarded the PGA Player of the Year title for the

first time Tuesday, while fellow American Matt Kuchar scooped two

awards for topping the official money list and carrying the lowest

scoring average.

Furyk won three times during the season, including the Tour

Championship in September that also gave him the whopping $10

million bonus for winning the FedEx Cup.

Kuchar had 11 top-10 finishes from 26 starts, putting him top of

the money list on $4,910,477 to win the Arnold Palmer Award.

Consistent scoring also saw Kuchar claim the Byron Nelson Award

for low adjusted scoring average, with him covering 18 holes in an

average of 69.61, just 0.05 ahead of Steve Stricker.

Both of the awards won by Kuchar had been claimed by Tiger Woods

12 months ago, but his personal problems and a winless year saw him

fall from grace, and from his No. 1 spot in the rankings.

“For me to go from a guy that just wanted to keep his card a few

years ago, to winning the Byron Nelson and Arnold Palmer Awards is

pretty overwhelming,” Kuchar said in a statement.

Furyk scooped the major PGA Player of the Year award after his

first season with three wins and finishing just behind Kuchar on

the official money list on $4,809,622.

“A special moment and a special year,” said Furyk. “I’ve never

had a three-win season before.”

It is only the third time in 12 years that Woods has not won the

Player of the Year award.