European PGA Tour to stage 47 tournaments in 2010

The European PGA Tour schedule for 2010 will feature 47

tournaments that will contribute to the second Race To Dubai


A three-week delay in announcing the schedule had led to

speculation the Race to Dubai, with its $30 million prize money,

may not be included after Dubai construction giant Nakheel

announced it was struggling to refinance debts of $26 billion.

However, European golf’s governing body said Monday the second

edition of the Dubai World Championship, along with its bonus pool

for the top 15 players on the European Money List, would go ahead

with the same prize money as 2009.

The schedule has been affected by the global economic


The European Open – which for the past two years has been held

at the London Club in Kent, England, and sponsored by Nakheel’s

subsidiary, Leisurecorps – will not be held next year. Also not

included are the Madrid Masters and Indonesian Open.

Dates and sponsorship deals have yet to be finalized for the

China Open and World Matchplay Championship, which was held for the

first time in Spain at the end of October. Both of those events

were sponsored by Swedish car manufacturers Volvo in 2009.

The new schedule does feature five new tournaments. They are the

Africa Open at East London, South Africa, from Jan. 7-10; the

Avantha Masters at the DLF G&CC, New Delhi, India, from Feb.

11-14; the Hassan II Trophy in Morocco from March 18-21; the

Mallorca Open from May 13-16; and the Andalucia Masters at

Valderrama, Spain from Oct. 28-31.