Denmark’s Bjerregaard wins European Amateur golf

Lucas Bjerregaard of Denmark protected his lead all day to win

the European Amateur golf title on Saturday.

The 18-year-old Bjerregaard shot 2-under 70 to finish on

15-under 273 and win by a stroke from England’s Tommy Fleetwood and

Italy’s Andrea Pavan on Vanajanlinna course.

He’s only the second Dane to win the title, after Morten

Backhausen, who beat Lee Westwood in a playoff in 1993.

Jeff Karlsson of Sweden was fourth, three shots off the pace on

12 under, and Robin Wingardh was fifth at 11 under.