Stephen Morris, Duke Johnson named to Maxwell watch list

Miami Hurricanes quarterback Stephen Morris and running back Duke Johnson have been named to the Maxwell Award watch list, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday.

Morris, a senior, threw for a career-best 3,345 yards and 21 touchdowns in 12 starts for Miami last season. His 3,415 yards in total offense set a new single-season record for the Hurricanes. Morris also became the first quarterback in team history to post multiple 400-yard passing games in a single season.
Johnson enters the season following one of the most successful freshman campaigns in Miami’s history. Johnson registered 2,060 all-purpose yards and 13 touchdowns in 2012. His 892 kick return yards set a single-season record, while his 947 rushing yards broke Clinton Portis’ 13-year-old school record for most rushing yards by a freshman. 
The Hurricanes have produced three Maxwell Award winners — Vinny Testaverde (1986), Gino Torretta (1991) and Ken Dorsey (2001).
The Maxwell Award has been awarded to America’s College Football Player of the Year since 1937. Semifinalists will be revealed on Oct. 29, with three finalists named on Nov. 18. The winner will be announced Dec. 12.