Seminoles’ Winston, Stork, Aguayo capture top honors

Florida State took four of college football’s biggest prizes on Thursday night at an awards ceremony in Orlando.
Jameis Winston won the Walter Camp Award (top player) and Davey O’Brien Award (top quarterback), while one of Winston’s top linemen, Bryan Stork, was given the Rimington Award (top center). And Roberto Aguayo was honored with the Lou Groza Award (top kicker).
“When you got a team like that, anybody can do it,” Winston said with a laugh. “Coach (Jimbo) Fisher can go out there and do a little something.”
Winston began the night when he was presented the Walter Camp Award, taking the honor over Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron and Boston College running back Andre Williams.
Later in the night, Winston won the O’Brien Award, beating Manziel and McCarron both times. McCarron won the last award of the night, the Maxwell, over Winston and Manziel.
Winston holds the freshman records in the Football Bowl Subdivision and ACC for passing yards (3,820). His 38 touchdown passes are an ACC season record.
Stork was named the 14th winner of the Rimington. He has made 39 career starts, helping make the blocking calls and adjustments for an offensive line that cleared the way for 6,882 yards (a Florida State and ACC single-season record).
“I am truly honored and very thankful to the Rimington Committee for giving me this award,” Stork said. “This is the Heisman for centers, so it’s very exciting for me. I’ve worked very hard these past five years, but I also wouldn’t be here without my teammates and my coaches, especially my offensive line coach, Rick Trickett.
“We still have one more game to play, so I’m focused on that, but this is a great honor and I’ve really enjoyed being here in Orlando.”
Aguayo made 19 of 20 field-goal attempts and all 90 extra-point attempts. His 147 points broke the Florida State and ACC records. He is the third Groza winner from Florida State, following Sebastian Janikowski (1998, ’99) and Graham Gano (2008).
Other finalists for Florida State included defensive back Lamarcus Joyner (Thorpe Award) and tight end Nick O’Leary (Mackey Award).