Round 1: Vote for the Sunshine State’s greatest college quarterback

Clockwise from top left: Florida State's Jameis Winston, Florida's Tim Tebow, UCF's Daunte Culpepper and Miami's Jim Kelly are four of the 16 quarterbacks vying for your vote in FOX Sports Florida's college QB battle.

Who is the best quarterback to ever play for a Florida university?

It’s a rather subjective question. How does one measure "best?" Most titles? Most awards? Records broken? Should NFL success be factored in?

We’ve put our collective heads together at FOX Sports Florida to compile a list of 16 of the greatest quarterbacks to suit up for a state school and seeded them in a bracket-style tournament.

We leave the rest to you. Judge these quarterbacks however you wish.

Four schools are represented. Eight of the quarterbacks won a Heisman Trophy. Eleven of the 16 won a national title.

Voting for Round 1 will end at 8 p.m., Jan. 17. Voting for Round 2 will open at 11 a.m., Jan. 18.

Our seedings resulted in some interesting Round 1 matchups.

— Two matchups feature Gator vs. Gator (No. 1 Tim Tebow vs. No. 16 Rex Grossman and No. 2 Danny Wuerffel vs. No. 15 Chris Leak).

— Two matchups feature Hurricane vs. Hurricane (No. 5 Ken Dorsey vs. No. 12 Jim Kelly and No. 7. Vinny Testaverde vs. No. 10 Steve Walsh). Interestingly, Walsh followed Testaverde in Miami’s QB lineage.

— The always pivotal 8-9 matchup pits Daunte Culpepper, record-setting QB who led UCF’s rise to Division I-A, vs. Chris Weinke, Heisman Trophy-winning QB who led Florida State to its first perfect season.