Miami Marlins place Rafael Furcal, Ed Lucas on DL, set roster

The Miami Marlins placed shortstop Rafael Furcal on the 15-day disabled list with a strained left hamstring.

Scott Rovak/Scott Rovak-USA TODAY Sports

The Marlins made their final moves Sunday afternoon to set their Opening Day roster.

Second baseman Rafael Furcal (strained left hamstring) and utility player Ed Lucas (fractured hand) were placed on the 15-day disabled list.

Furcal’s stint is retroactive March 21 when he last played in a Grapefruit League game but exited in the third inning after re-aggravating it. He will be eligible to return next Sunday against the Padres.

Lucas sustained a non-displaced fracture of his left hand when a pitch hit him on Thursday hours after learning he had made the Opening Day roster. He will be out four to six weeks.

Non-roster invitees Reed Johnson’s and Kevin Slowey’s contracts were selected.

Johnson was second on the club with a .405 batting average this spring. He will serve as a backup outfielder (plays all three positions) and veteran bat off the bench.

Miami Marlins on FOX Sports Florida

Slowey, who also made the team last Opening Day as a non-roster invitee, posted a 0-0 record and 2.20 ERA this spring. He was in contention for the fifth spot in the rotation but will pitch in long relief out of the bullpen.

To make room for them on the 40-man roster the Marlins designated outfielder Brian Bogusevic and right-hander Michael Brady for assignment.

Miami acquired Bogusevic from the Cubs this offseason for outfielder Justin Ruggiano, who finished second on the club for home runs and RBI in 2013. Bogusevic hit just .170 during spring training.

Brady went 2-2 with a 1.53 ERA over 49 appearances with Double-A Jacksonville in 2013. He allowed two runs on four hits in two innings during his lone spring outing.

The 25-man roster is as follows:

PITCHERS (12): RHP Henderson Alvarez, RHP Steve Cishek, LHP Mike Dunn, RHP Nathan Eovaldi, RHP Jose Fernandez, LHP Brad Hand, LHP Dan Jennings, RHP Tom Koehler, RHP Carlos Marmol, RHP A.J. Ramos, RHP Kevin Slowey, RHP Jacob Turner.

CATCHERS (2): Jeff Mathis, Jarrod Saltalamacchia.

INFIELDERS (7): Jeff Baker, Derek Dietrich, Greg Dobbs, Adeiny Hechavarria, Garrett Jones, Casey McGehee, Donovan Solano.

OUTFIELDERS (4): Reed Johnson, Marcell Ozuna, Giancarlo Stanton, Christian Yelich.