Martin St. Louis comes up short in Ted Lindsay Award

Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby won the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL’s “Most Outstanding Player,” the league announced Saturday night.

Tampa Bay Lightning winger Martin St. Louis, winner of the Art Ross and Lady Byng Memorial trophies, was a finalist for the honor, as was Washington Capitals winger Alex Ovechkin.
Voting results were not made available.
This was Crosby’s second Ted Lindsay Award, which is voted on by members of the NHLPA. He also claimed the honor in the 2006-07 season. Ovechkin (three times, in the 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10 seasons) and St. Louis (once, in 2003-04) are also former winners.

In 48 regular-season games, St. Louis led the league in points (60), assists (43) and was second in points per game (1.25).

Crosby, in 36 regular-season games, tied for third in the league in points (56) and ranked second in assists (41). Meanwhile, in 48 regular-season games, Ovechkin led the league in goals (32), tied for third in points (56) and tied for fifth in points per game (1.17).

Tampa Bay had 40 points with an 18-26-4 record this season, good for 14th place in the Eastern Conference.