Jaguars cut final four players to finalize 53-man roster

Kerry Taylor lost his spot to Allen Hurns and Mike Brown.

Andrew Weber/Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — The Jacksonville Jaguars trimmed their roster to the NFL’s regular-season 53-man limit Saturday by waiving wide receiver Kerry Taylor, linebacker Nate Stupar, cornerback Jamell Fleming and safety Sherrod Martin.

The Jaguars also received a roster exemption for wide receiver Ace Sanders, who will serve a four-game suspension to begin the regular season.

Although guard Tyler Shatley was announced Friday as one of the players the Jaguars had waived, he remains on the current roster. That means four undrafted rookies — Shatley, wide receiver Allen Hurns, tight end Marcel Jensen and tackle Josh Wells — made the final roster.

None of the four players waived Saturday were with the team at the beginning of last season. Taylor caught 19 passes in seven games after being signed by the Jaguars in November but lost out to Hurns and Mike Brown.

Martin was trying to make a comeback after tearing two knee ligaments in 2012 while with the Carolina Panthers and not playing with anyone last season. Chris Prosinski, who can play both safety positions and has been a standout on special teams, was kept over Martin.

J.T. Thomas, who can play at middle and outside linebacker, made Stupar expendable, while the Jaguars chose 2013 seventh-round draft pick Jeremy Harris over Fleming.

General manager Dave Caldwell said that while there could be players claimed off the waiver wire from other teams, he expected "nothing of the magnitude we did last year."

You can follow Ken Hornack on Twitter @HornackFSFla or email him at