Hurricanes basketball gets own special day

After a special season in which the Miami Hurricanes won both the ACC regular-season and tournament titles, the accolades rolled in.

Point guard Shane Larkin was the coaches’ pick for ACC Player of the Year, and Jim Larranaga won a slew of Coach of the Year honors.

Now the team gets its own day.

Two resolutions were read and presented on the floor of the Florida House of Representatives and the state senate, recognizing April 18, 2013 as “University of Miami Hurricanes Men’s Basketball Team Day.”

The House Resolution HB 9089 is sponsored by Rep. Eddy Gonzalez, and Senate Resolution SB 1858 is sponsored by Sen. Oscar Braynon.