Former ‘Canes Brown, Sapp, Lewis nominated for College Football Hall of Fame

Jerome Brown (left), Warren Sapp (middle) and Ray Lewis starred at Miami before going on to prolific NFL careers.

Three former University of Miami standouts — Jerome Brown, Ray Lewis and Warren Sapp — are among 75 players on the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

The class will be announced in May and inducted Dec. 9 in New York City.

Brown, a defensive tackle from 1983-86, led the Canes to four consecutive New Year’s Day bowl games. As a senior, Brown was an unanimous first-team All-America selection as well as a finalist for both the Outland and Lombardi trophies. He ranks 10th in school history with 21 career sacks.

A first-team All-American and Butkus Award runner-up, Lewis led the Hurricanes to Fiesta and Orange Bowl appearances. He currently ranks sixth at Miami with 388 career tackles.

Sapp, a 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, was a two-time All-BIG EAST selection awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player), Rotary Lombardi Award (best lineman or linebacker) and the Bill Willis Award (best defensive lineman) in 1994. That year he also earned BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year honors, recording 84 tackles, 10.5 sacks, four forced fumbles and three fumble recovers.

Ten Hurricanes have been voted into the College Football Hall of Fame: Bennie Blades (2006), Don Bosseler (1990), Andy Gustafson (1985), Jack Harding (1980), Ted Hendricks (1987), Jimmy Johnson (2012), Russell Maryland (2011), Vinny Testaverde (2013), Gino Torretta (2009) and Arnold Tucker (2008).

You can follow Christina De Nicola on Twitter @CDeNicola13 or email her at