Quarterfinals: Vote for the Sunshine State’s greatest college quarterback

Clockwise from left: Florida's Danny Wuerffel, Miami's Vinny Testaverde, Florida State's Charlie Ward and Florida's Steve Spurrier are four of the eight quarterbacks who advanced to the quarterfinals in our FOX Sports Florida college QB tournament.

Who is the best quarterback to ever play for a Florida university?

Well, we know who’s not. Say goodbye to Rex Grossman, Chris Leak, Blake Bortles, Gino Torretta, Ken Dorsey, Bernie Kosar and Chris Weinke.

In all but two of the first-round matchups, the higher seed advanced easily.

Just as we expected, the 8/9 battle between Daunte Culpepper (UCF, 1995-98) and Weinke (FSU, 1997-2000) went down to the wire. In the end, just six (SIX!) votes separated No. 8 seed Culpepper, who helped pioneer UCF’s jump to I-A and became the school’s first first-round draft pick, from No. 9 Weinke, who led FSU to its first unbeaten season and second national title.

It was the 5/12 matchup that provided the upset of the first round. In a battle of old school and new school former University of Miami quarterbacks, the No. 12 seeded Kelly (1979-82), the first in the school’s long lineage of NFL-caliber quarterbacks who went on to have a Hall of Fame NFL career, edged out fifth-seeded Dorsey (1999-2002), who owns a plethora of school passing records but had little NFL success.

In the quarterfinals, fans won’t have to worry about splitting their allegiance between two quarterbacks from the same school.

No. 1 Tim Tebow (Florida) faces No. 8 Daunte Culpepper (UCF)

No. 2 Danny Wuerffel (Florida) takes on No. 7 Vinny Testaverde (Miami)

No. 3 Steve Spurrier (Florida) goes up against No. 6 Charlie Ward (FSU)

No. 4 Jameis Winston (FSU) battles No. 12 Jim Kelly (Miami)


Voting for the semifinals will open Jan. 25.