South Florida gears up for 13th annual Acordis ‘Call of the Game Dinner,’ ‘Celebrity Golf Classic’

Eric Reid and Tony Fiorentino

MIAMI, FL – South Florida is gearing up for the 13th annual Acordis ‘Call of The Game Dinner’ and ‘Celebrity Golf Classic,’ hosted by prominent sports media personalities and Fox Sports Sun HEAT TV broadcaster Eric Reid and Tony Fiorentino. The multi-day fundraiser benefits South Florida nonprofit organization Lauren’s Kids – which works to prevent child sexual abuse and aids survivors to heal; as well as Dade Schools Athletic Foundation – which supports athletic programs in Miami-Dade public schools.

WHAT: Acordis ‛Call of The Game Dinner’

The star-studded evening will include a silent and live auction featuring luxurious vacation packages, sports memorabilia, Britto-designed artwork and one-of-a-kind experiences, among other items. The fête will be hosted by two-time Emmy Award-winning broadcast journalist Calvin Hughes from WPLG ABC 10.

WHEN: Saturday, March 9, 2019 at 6:30PM

WHERE: JW Marriott Miami Turnberry Resort & Spa, 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura FL 33180

WHO: Honorees include three-time NBC champion Udonis Haslem of the Miami HEAT; acclaimed broadcaster Tony Fiorentino; musician, entertainer and community activist Luther Campbell and civic leader the Honorable Judge Rosemarie Aquilina.

About the ‛Acordis Call of The Game Dinner’ Awards and Honorees:

Udonis Haslem will be presented with the Don Shula Sports Legend Award. This award is presented to exceptional stars in the sporting industry that bring passion and determination for their sport off the playing field and into their community. Beyond his work on the court, Haslem is an established businessman, philanthropist and community activist. In 2005, Udonis founded the Udonis Haslem’s Children’s Foundation whose mission is to promote youth development and self-confidence through programs and services designed to enable them to reach their full personal and educational potential. Every year, the foundation hosts its annual Christmas Honor Roll shopping event to recognize children from Miami-Dade public schools who have academically excelled despite their challenges and adversities. He is a franchisee in several successful South Florida restaurants as well as a partner of JFC Miami, a food and beverage company which operates licensed stores on Jackson Memorial Hospital’s campus. His latest endeavor: 800 Degrees Woodfired Kitchen in Aventura. In 2016, Haslem was inducted into the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce Sports Hall of Champions for his athletic accomplishments as the longest-tenured member in the Miami HEAT franchise. Past honorees: Coach Don Shula, Bob Griese, Dr. Jack Ramsay, Alonzo Mourning, Ron Rothstein, LeBron James, Dan Marino, Pat Riley, Jack Nicklaus and Joe Namath.

Tony Fiorentino will receive the Sonny Hirsch Excellence in Sports Broadcasting Award. This award honors an outstanding sport broadcaster whose work has had great impact in their field, while making noteworthy endeavors within the community. Fiorentino is well known as a key member of the HEAT TV broadcast team, a role he has had for 13 years. He also serves as the HEAT’s Summer Camp Director and, with Eric Reid, hosts this annual event. Past award winners include Joe Rose, Tony Segreto, Hank Goldberg, Jim Mandich, Dave Van Horne, Steve Shapiro, Joe Zagacki, Dick Stockton, Kim Bokamper and Jim Berry.

The Ted Arison Community Service Award for outstanding work in the community will be presented to Luther Campbell for his commitment to bettering the Miami community. A businessman, community activist, author, television personality, radio host and artist, Campbell was the first Southern rapper to appear on Billboard’s Pop charts. In addition, he was the first music business executive to start an independent rap record label. Being honored by the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, as a member of 2 Live Crew and fighting the good fight all the way to the Supreme Court – and won – ensuring freedom of speech with the creation of parodies in recorded material. Campbell’s philanthropic efforts include Miami’s refugee community as well as the city’s less fortunate. He is also a sports radio host and long-time columnist for the Miami New Times. Past award winners include Bill Fauerbach and Publix, Dwyane Wade, Tracy Wilson Mourning, Dr. Barth Green with daughter Jenna Green, Twan Russell, James Jones, Romero Britto, Matt Sandusky, Art Hertz, and Constance Collins.

This year’s Jim Mandich Courage and Commitment Award will be presented to the honorable Judge Rosemarie E. Aquilina for her valor, inspiration, compassion and endless pursuit of justice. She is most notable for presiding over the 2018 USA Gymnastics sex abuse scandal and sentencing Larry Nassar up to 175 years in prison. Previously, Judge Aquilina has held upstanding positions across the country including 30th Circuit Court for Ingham County, 55th District Court Judge, and Administrative Assistant to State Senator John F. Kelly for ten years. She also became part of Michigan’s history by becoming the first female JAG officer in the Michigan Army National Guard when she enlisted. Now she is an adjunct professor at Thomas M. Cooley Law School, a mentor for the State Bar of Michigan Lawyers and Judges Assistance Program and is extremely active in the community. Past winners include Nick Buoniconti and Marc Buoniconti, Sara Ganim, Gabrielle Giffords, Jeffrey Fogel, Troy Vincent and Diana Nyad.

Following the Call of the Game Dinner, the Celebrity Golf Classic will be held on Monday, March 11th at the JW Marriott Miami Turnberry Resort & Spa.

WHAT: Reid & Fiorentino Celebrity Golf Classic

Participating guests in this event will enjoy an exciting day of competitive golf, along with lunch, on-course refreshments and an awards ceremony following the round. A celebrity captain will be paired with each team and compete for a variety of prizes to be presented at the post-game reception. Miami Heat dancers and Bernie will be on-site for photo ops.

WHEN: Monday, March 11, 2019, registration begins at 11AM; shotgun at 1PM

WHERE: JW Marriott Miami Turnberry Resort & Spa, 19999 West Country Club Drive, Aventura FL 33180

WHO: Celebrity golfer lineup has yet to be announced. Former Golf Classic celebrity captains have included: Former Dolphins and Pro Football Hall of Famers Bob Griese, Nat Moore, Dwight Stephenson and Larry Little. Also, Cornelius Bennett (Colts/Bills/Falcons), Dick Anderson, Kim Bokamper, Woody Bennett, Jason Taylor (all former NFL/Dolphins), Glen Rice (NBA All-Star), Basketball Hall of Famer Scottie Pippen, PGA golfer Woody Austin, LPGA golfer Patti Rizzo, NBA Hall of Famer Alonzo Mourning (Miami HEAT), Paul O’Neill (New York Yankees), and many more.

Platinum Partners include: Ronald L. Book P.A., Doctors Hospital and TNT Fireworks. All-Star partners include: American Airlines, Bloomingdale’s, Metro Signs, LaCroix, The GEO Group, Dade Media, National Jets, Petland Florida, Carnival and Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino of Hollywood, Florida. For further information please visit or contact Reid and Fiorentino Events at 305-529-9506 or