Marqise Lee named USC’s MVP

LOS ANGELES – USC unanimous All-American junior wide receiver Marqise Lee, the Biletnikoff Award winner and Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year who was fourth in the Heisman Trophy balloting, was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2012 Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Friday (Dec. 14) at USC’s Tutor Campus Center Ballroom.

Lee, who also was USC’s Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year and won the John McKay Award (competitive spirit), leads the nation in receptions, is second in receiving yards and third in all-purpose yards.  He set Pac-12 records for season receptions (112) and receiving yardage (1,680).

Senior safety T.J. McDonald was named USC’s Most Inspirational Player and Defensive Perimeter Player of the Year.  C Khaled Holmes was the Offensive Lineman of the Year and also won the Trojan Way Leadership Award and the Trojan Football Alumni Club Award (top GPA).  DE Morgan Breslin was the Defensive Lineman of the Year and LB Tony Burnett was the Special Teams Player of the Year.

A complete list of the 2012 awards:

Most Valuable Player: wide receiver Marqise Lee
Most Inspirational Player: safety T.J. McDonald
Leadership Award: center Khaled Holmes
Linemen of the Year: center Khaled Holmes (offense), defensive end Morgan Breslin (defense)
Perimeter Players of the Year: wide receiver Marqise Lee (offense), safety T.J. McDonald (defense)
Special Teams Player of the Year: linebacker Tony Burnett
Service Team Players of the Year: offensive tackle-guard Jordan Simmons (offense), defensive end Jabari Ruffin (defense)
Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (year’s longest run): wide receiver Robert Woods (76 yards vs. Syracuse)
Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): center Khaled Holmes   
Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): tight end Randall Telfer
John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): wide receiver Marqise Lee
Joe Collins Walk-on Award: offensive tackle-guard Nathan Guertler, cornerback Ryan Dillard
Courage Award: wide receiver Robert Woods
Co-Lifters Award: offensive tackle Kevin Graf, cornerback Nickell Robey
Team Captains: quarterback Matt Barkley, safety T.J. McDonald, center Khaled Holmes, cornerback Nickell Robey