Jim Mora a finalist for coach of the year honor

UCLA Coach Jim Mora is one of 10 finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.

The award recognizes college football coaches who demonstrate sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence on and off the field, according to Liberty Mutual. The winner receives $50,000 to donate to the charity of his choice and a $20,000 contribution to his school’s alumni association.

The other finalists in the FBS division are Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Urban Meyer (Ohio State), Bill Snyder (Kansas State), Bill O’Brien (Penn State), Mark Richt (Georgia), Nick Saban (Alabama), Kevin Sumlin (Texas A&M), Dabo Swinney (Clemson) and Charlie Strong (Louisville).

The winner will be determined by a vote of a College Football Hall of Fame committee (55%), media (25%) and fans (20%).

UCLA had a 6-8 record in 2011. In Mora’s first season, the Bruins are 9-3 and will play in the Bridgepoint Education Holiday Bowl.

–Chris Foster