Nairo Quintana left off Movistar team for Tour de France

Nairo Quintana won't compete in the Tour de France this year.



Movistar has confirmed Giro d’Italia champion Nairo Quintana will skip the Tour de France.

Last year’s Tour runner-up wasn’t included in Movistar’s preliminary 13-man squad on Wednesday. It will trim the squad to nine before the July 5-27 race.

The team stuck to its plan of reserving Quintana for the Spanish Vuelta despite the 24-year-old Colombian’s spectacular rise over the past two seasons.

The team picked Alejandro Valverde as its ”designated leader.”

The other members of the preliminary squad are: Ivan Gutierrez, Jesus Herrada, Alex Dowsett, Imanol Erviti, Benat Intxausti, Ion Izagirre, Juanjo Lobato, Ruben Plaza, Jose Joaquin Rojas, John Gadret, Sylwester Szmyd and Giovanni Visconti.