Sri Lanka Cricket picks new selectors led by Labrooy

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (AP) Sri Lanka Cricket has a new five-member selection panel led by former test seamer Graeme Labrooy, and including two other former test players.

The new panel was named on Tuesday, after former captain Sanath Jayasuriya’s selection committee quit following a string of defeats.

Sri Lanka Cricket manager and former test player Asanka Gurusinha and former test wicketkeeper Gamini Wickremasinghe are also members, plus former first-class players Jeryl Woutersz and Sajith Fernando.

Jayasuriya and his panel quit during the recent home series against India in which Sri Lanka lost every match across all three formats.

The selectors came under heavy criticism for inconsistent selections and for experimenting with too many new players.