South Africa wins toss, bowls in 2nd test vs. Australia

HOBART, Australia (AP) South Africa has won the toss and chosen to bowl Saturday in the second cricket test against Australia at Bellerive Oval.

Australia's lineup includes two new caps, batsman Callum Ferguson and his South Australia teammate, fast bowler Joe Mennie.

Ferguson was named to replace allrounder Mitch Marsh and will play his first test match nine days ahead of his 32nd birthday.

Australia lost opener Shaun Marsh with a broken finger and fast bowler Peter Siddle with a back injury from its first test lineup. Joe Burns will replace Shaun Marsh while Mennie replaces Siddle.

Australia has also named spinner Nathan Lyon, deciding against an all-pace lineup.

South Africa, who won the first test in Perth by 177 runs, named Kyle Abbot to replace injured fast bowler Dale Steyn and retained spinner Keshav Maharaj.

Australia: David Warner, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (captain), Adam Voges, Callum Ferguson, Peter Nevill, Mitchell Starc, Joe Mennie, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.

South Africa: Stephen Cook, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, J.P. Duminy, Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Kyle Abbott, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj.