Pakistan wins toss, elects to bat in Amir's return test

Pakistan's Mohammad Amir poses for a photograph as he arrives on day one of the Test match against England at Lord's, London, Thursday July 14, 2016. The 24-year-old Amir has served his five-year punishment for bowling deliberate no-balls, also at Lord's in 2010. (Anthony Devlin/PA via AP)
Anthony Devlin/AP

LONDON (AP) Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to bat first against England on Thursday.

The first test of the four-match series marks the return of 24-year-old fast bowler Mohammad Amir, who served a five-year ban from international cricket for spot-fixing.

Amir bowled deliberate no-balls at Lord's in 2010 and was banned along with teammates Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif.

Pakistan included three left-arm fast bowlers – Amir, Rahat Ali and Wahab Riaz – with legspinner Yasir Shah as the sole slow bowler.

Nottinghamshire fast bowler Jake Ball was awarded his test debut as the 25-year-old Englishman replaced injured James Anderson.


Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali, Yasir Shah.

England: Alastair Cook (captain), Alex Hales, Joe Root, James Vince, Gary Ballance, Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, Jake Ball, Steven Finn.