New Zealand wins toss, bowls in 1st T20 vs Pakistan

AUCKLAND, New Zealand (AP) New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat Friday in the first of three Twenty20 internationals against Pakistan, which recalled fast bowler Mohammad Amir to international cricket after a five-year ban for spot fixing.

Amir was banned in 2010 and served three months of a six month sentence after being found to have bowled two no-balls during a test against England at Lord's at times specified by sports gamblers.

He returned at Eden Park on Friday to play his first match for Pakistan since that test in August, 2010 and to appear in his 19th Twenty20 international. He was 18 at the time of the offenses and is now 23.

Amir will form part of a three-pronged pace attack with Wahab Riaz and Umar Gul.

New Zealand named allrounder Todd Astle to make his Twenty20 debut, three years after he made his only other international appearance in a test against Sri Lanka. Ross Taylor has been rested for the match and Matt Henry replaces Mitch McClenaghan who has a slight injury.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Grant Elliott, Luke Ronchi, Todd Astle, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.

Pakistan: Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi (captain), Imad Wasim, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir.

Umpires: Phil Jones and Derek Walker, New Zealand.

TV umpire: Billy Bowden, New Zealand. Match referee: David Boon, Australia.