Indian selectors name 15-member squad for Champions Trophy

NEW DELHI (AP) India’s cricket selectors on Monday named a 15-man squad for the Champions Trophy, a day after they announced that the team would take part in the tournament despite a financial dispute with the International Cricket Council.

Captain Virat Kohli will lead the team that will play in Group B against Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka in the June 1-18 eight-team competition being played in England and Wales.

All seven other teams taking part in the tournament – England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Australia, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh – were announced by the April 25 deadline. The tournament begins in England on June 1.

The BCCI delayed naming the Indian team because of its objections that a new ICC financial formula hurts India’s interests by reducing its revenues from $570 million to $293 million for the period 2016-23. The ICC has reportedly offered India another $100 million but that is yet to be accepted by the BCCI.

Batsman Rohit Sharma returns to the squad after recovering from a thigh injury that he sustained during a Test series against England last year. Manish Pandey has been drafted in as an extra batsman while Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be wicketkeeper, chairman of the selection panel, M.S.K. Prasad, told reporters.

Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Manish Pandey.