India wins toss, bowls first in Champions Trophy final

LONDON (AP) India won the toss and elected to bowl first against Pakistan in the Champions Trophy final at The Oval on Sunday.

India, the defending champion, named an unchanged team for a third straight match.

The same team lost to Sri Lanka then beat South Africa at The Oval in group play, and defeated Bangladesh in the semifinals at Edgbaston. The only change India made after the opening 124-run win over Pakistan was to play offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin instead of medium-pacer Umesh Yadav.

Pakistan, playing its first Trophy final, made only one expected change, recalling fast bowler Mohammad Amir, who had to miss the semifinal win over England because of a back spasm. Rumman Raees dropped out.

It’s the same Pakistan team that stunned South Africa.


Pakistan: Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah.