India win toss and bowl

DHARAMSALA, India (AP) India won the toss and elected to bowl in the first ODI against New Zealand in Dharamsala on Sunday.

M.S. Dhoni returned to lead India in their 900th ODI. Hardik Pandya was handed his debut. Senior bowlers R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami have been rested for the first three ODIs.

India opted for Amit Mishra and Axar Patel as spin options, while Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah are the two pacemen. Ajinkya Rahane will open the innings with Rohit Sharma.

Kane Williamson lost a fourth straight toss on this tour, after losing all three during the Test series. Tim Southee is fit again, and all-rounder Corey Anderson returns to the playing eleven. Trent Boult and Matt Henry have been rested.

Dew in the evening at this scenic ground usually assists a run-chase.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Ajinkya Rahane, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Manish Pandey, 5 MS Dhoni (c & wk), 6 Kedhar Jadhav, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Amit Mishra, 9 Axar Patel, 10 Umesh Yadav, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (c), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Corey Anderson, 6 James Neesham, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Luke Ronchi (wk), 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Doug Bracewell