Term limits set for committee

The College Football Playoff selection committee concluded its first meeting by setting staggered term limits for its 13 members.

The committee will set the matchups for the new postseason system that starts next season. The goal is to always have experienced members of the committee.

The terms for former Air Force Academy superintendent and retired Gen. Mike Gould, Southern California athletic director Pat Haden, former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne and former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese will end February 2016.

Terms for Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez, West Virginia athletic director Oliver Luck, former Mississippi quarterback Archie Manning and former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice will end in February 2017.

Terms for former NCAA vice president Tom Jernstedt, Arkansas athletic Jeff Long, Clemson athletic director Dan Radakovich, former USA Today college sports writer Steve Wieberg and former Notre Dame coach Tyrone Willingham expire in February 2018.