WVU QB Geno Smith tabbed for Big 12 honor

West Virginia quarterback Geno Smith is the Big 12 preseason

Offensive Player of the Year, beating out Oklahoma’s Landry


The league on Wednesday released its preseason All-Big 12 teams,

selected by media members who cover the conference.

Texas lineman Alex Okafor is the preseason Defensive Player of

the Year and is one of three Longhorn defenders selected to the

all-league team.

Oklahoma State’s Joseph Randle and Texas’s Malcolm Brown earned

nods at running back, with Oklahoma’s Kenny Stills picked at wide


Iowa State’s linebacker duo of Jake Knott and A.J. Klein both

made the cut along with Kansas State’s Arthur Brown.

Freshman wide receiver Trey Metoyer of Oklahoma is the preseason

Newcomer of the Year.


Big 12 preseason team: