Pereira: With Cotton Bowl in balance, officials made correct call

The refs made the right call on a critical play in the Cotton Bowl, says FOX's Mike Pereira.

It’s the toughest call in football. Period. 

A controversial pass interference call in the fourth quarter of the game between Oklahoma State and Missouri at the Cotton Bowl called back a go-ahead touchdown for the Cowboys and instead turned into a go-ahead field goal for the Tigers. 

Here was the situation: Missouri had the ball, second-and-7 from its own 22-yard line with 9:20 left in the game. The score was tied at 24.

Missouri quarterback James Franklin attempted a pass to WR Dorial Green-Beckham and it was intercepted by CB Tyler Patmon and returned for a touchdown. Patmon, however, was called for pass interference, even though the referee never mentioned his number. 

With the benefit of the fancy replay machine here at the FOX Network Center, I was able to look at the play, frame-by-frame, and the video revealed that the penalty happened early in the route. OSU’s Patmon rode Missouri’s Green-Beckham a good 10 yards and also grabbed some jersey, before breaking off and cutting to the inside to make the interception. 

It was a huge penalty, but the officials got it right. I liked the call because the contact definitely restricted Green-Beckham from making a catch and aided Patmon in making the interception. 

Missouri went on to kick a go-ahead field goal on that drive, and eventually win the game with the help of two more touchdowns.