Texas QB McCoy repeats as Walter Camp winner

Texas quarterback Colt McCoy has won the Walter Camp Football

Foundation’s player of the year award for the second consecutive


McCoy becomes the third player to win the award in back-to-back

years, joining Ohio State star Archie Griffin (1974-75) and

Southern California standout O.J. Simpson (1967-68). The honor is

voted on by coaches and sports information directors.

McCoy led the Longhorns to a 13-0 record this season and a spot

in the Jan. 7 BCS national championship game against Alabama. He

threw for 3,512 yards and 27 touchdowns.

The other nominees were quarterbacks Tim Tebow of Florida and

Case Keenum of Houston, running back Mark Ingram of Alabama and

defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska.