Texas, Alabama in college title decider

Quarterback Colt McCoy and the University of Texas are headed for the BCS college football championship game after clinching the Big 12 decider with a dramatic 13-12 win over Nebraska on Saturday.

Hunter Lawrence nailed a 46-yard field goal as time expired, giving McCoy and the No.3-ranked Longhorns a famous victory.

McCoy was hassled by the Cornhuskers into uncustomary mistakes – including letting time run out on his chance of reaching the title game. Officials put 1 second back on the clock and Lawrence converted to keep the Longhorns undefeated.

No. 2 Alabama 32, No. 1 Florida 13

In Atlanta, Mark Ingram rushed for 113 yards and three touchdowns to hand Alabama victory in the SEC championship game.

Greg McElroy was 12 of 18 for 239 yards and a touchdown as the Crimson Tide munched the Gators to move within one win of its first national college title since 1992.

While Alabama prepares to face Texas, the Gators and quarterback Tim Tebow will likely settle for the Sugar Bowl, denied a shot at their third national title in four years.

No. 6 Boise State 42, New Mexico State 7

In Boise, Idaho, Doug Martin had four touchdown runs and Boise State finished unbeaten for the second consecutive season.

Kellen Moore threw for 272 yards and a score for the Broncos, who finished 12-0 last year but were left out of the Bowl Championship Series. The Broncos will have to wait until Sunday night to see if they make it into one of the big-money bowls this season.

No. 5 Cincinnati 45, No. 14 Pittsburgh 44

In Pittsburgh, Tony Pike’s 29-yard touchdown pass to Armon Binns with 33 seconds remaining finished Cincinnati’s comeback from a 21-point deficit as the Bearcats secured a BCS berth and their second consecutive Big East title.

Freshman Dion Lewis’ three touchdowns and 194 yards rushing carried Pittsburgh to leads of 31-10, 38-24 and 44-38, only to have the Bearcats rally each time.

No. 12 Georgia Tech 39, No. 25 Clemson 34

In Tampa, Florida, Jonathan Dwyer’s 15-yard touchdown run with 1:20 remaining lifted Georgia Tech to the ACC championship in its second season under coach Paul Johnson

Josh Nesbitt threw a 70-yard TD pass to DeMaryius Thomas and Scott Blair kicked a title game-record four field goals to help the Yellow Jackets win the crown – Tech’s first since sharing it with Florida State in 1998.

Arizona 21, No. 20 USC 17

In Los Angeles, Juron Criner stumbled into the end zone with a 36-yard touchdown pass from Nick Foles with 3:14 to play as Arizona wrapped up its best regular season in a decade.

Foles passed for 239 yards for the Wildcats, who finally beat USC for the first time in coach Mike Stoops’ tenure by scoring the final TD in a defense-dominated game.

No. 24 West Virginia 24, Rutgers 21

In Piscataway, New Jersey, Noel Devine and Ryan Clarke each ran for a touchdown and JT Thomas’ interception with 1:59 left sealed it for West Virginia.

In beating Rutgers for the 15th straight time, West Virginia earned a berth in the Gator Bowl, possibly against Florida State and former WVU coach Bobby Bowden in his final game.

Washington 42, No. 19 California 10

In Seattle, Jake Locker threw for three touchdowns and ran for two more, and the Huskies closed out their redemptive first season under coach Steve Sarkisian.

A year removed from an 0-12 embarrassment, Washington put a final cap on this season with an effort that made 2008 an afterthought.

East Carolina 38, No. 18 Houston 32

In Greeneville, North Carolina, Dominique Lindsay and Giavanni Ruffin each ran for two touchdowns while East Carolina’s defense hung in against Houston’s powerful offense in the Conference USA championship game.

Dwayne Harris had a big day with 123 yards receiving and a 22-yard touchdown catch. He also had a 69-yard kickoff return to set up East Carolina’s first touchdown, helping the Pirates beat the mistake-prone Cougars for their second straight league title.