Simoneau, Randolph chosen AP Little All-Americans


Harlon Hill Trophy finalists Dane Simoneau of Washburn University and Jonas Randolph of Mars Hill College have been selected to The Associated Press Little All-America team.

The Little All-America team honors players from Division II, III and NAIA.

Simoneau passed for 4,089 yards and 38 touchdowns, leading Washburn in Topeka, Kan., to a 10-3 season and a spot in the NCAA Division II playoffs.

Randolph was Division II’s leading rusher at 2,170 yards for Mars Hill in North Carolina.

The Harlon Hill Trophy was to be presented to Friday night.

Joining Randolph in the backfield was running back Levell Coppage of Wisconsin-Whitewater, which was to play Mount Union for the Division III title Friday night.

Defensive back Nick Driskill of Mount Union was selected to the first team.

The other running back on the first team was Hillsdale’s Joe Glendening, who is second in Division II in rushing with 1,600 yards and has scored 31 touchdowns, tops in the nation.

Wayne State University in Michigan, which plays Pittsburg State in Alabama on Saturday for the Division II championship, placed two players on the first-team: offensive tackle Joe Long and defensive back Jeremy Jones.

Wayne State receiver Troy Burrell was a third-team selection.

Linebacker Nate Dreiling was Pittsburg State’s lone representative in the first team and receiver and kicker returner John Brown was chosen as the all-purpose player on the second team.

Trevor Kennedy of Mercyhurst and Trey McVay of Northeastern State, the top two in Division II in receiving yards per game, were the Little All-American receivers.

Joining Long on the line were four more 300-pounders: Midwestern State’s Amini Silatolu, Delta State’s Darrell Leopold, Alex Smith of Division III Salisbury and North Alabama’s Kyle Thornton.

The kicker was Missouri Western State’s Greg Zuerlein, who converted 23 of 24 field goal attempts.

Jonathan Woodson of Texas A&M-Kingsville was the all-purpose player. He led the nation in all-purpose yards at 2,309.

Joining Dreiling on defense were linebackers Chad Kilgore of Northwest Missouri State and Jamarkus Gaskins of Albany State.

Lincoln University’s Tim Green, who leads Division II in sacks per game at 1 1/2, highlights the defensive line. He is joined by Todd Storm of Michigan Tech, Aston Whiteside of Abilene Christian and Chris Mayes of Division III Wesley.

Joining Jones and Driskill in the secondary were Rontez Miles of California University in Pennsylvania and Alton Keaton of Winston Salem State.

The punter was Randy Weich of Wayne State College in Nebraska.