Savannah State sets final FCS schedule

(STATS) – Savannah State will begin its final season as an FCS member by facing UAB and Miami and host five opponents as part of an 11-game schedule which was announced Wednesday.

The Tigers’ struggling program has made steady improvement in coach Erik Raeburn’s first two seasons, including 3-8 overall and 3-5 MEAC records last year. But after this season, they plan to drop back to Division II.

Savannah State will open the 2018 season with four straight road games, starting with UAB (Aug. 30) and Miami (Sept. 8), and then have a four-game homestand at Theodore Wright Stadium, taking on MEAC members Bethune-Cookman (Sept. 29), Morgan State (Oct. 13) and Norfolk State (Oct. 27) as well as Charleston Southern (Oct. 6) from the Big South.

The Tigers’ final home game will be against defending MEAC champion North Carolina A&T on Nov. 10.


2018 Savannah State Schedule

Aug. 30, at UAB

Sept. 8, at Miami

Sept. 15, at Howard

Sept. 22, at Florida A&M*

Sept. 29, Bethune-Cookman*

Oct. 6, Charleston Southern

Oct. 13, Morgan State*

Oct. 27, Norfolk State*

Nov. 3, at Delaware State*

Nov. 10, North Carolina A&T*

Nov. 17, at South Carolina State*

* – MEAC game