Pittsburgh DT Aaron Donald wins Bednarik Award

Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald has won the Chuck

Bednarik Award as the defensive player of the year in college


He also won the Outland Trophy, given to the nation’s top

interior lineman, earlier Thursday evening during the 23rd College

Football Awards Show at Disney. It capped a big week for Donald,

who took home the Bronko Nagurski award this week as the best

defensive player in the country, and the Lombardi Award given

annually to the nation’s top college lineman.

Donald becomes the first Atlantic Coast Conference player to win

the Bednarik Award since Maryland linebacker EJ Henderson in 2002.

The senior finished the season with 54 tackles, 10 sacks, 26

tackles for loss and four forced fumbles.

Donald was selected over fellow finalists Anthony Barr from UCLA

and C.J. Mosley of Alabama.