Pick 6: Forecasting the BCS

The season starts Thursday, so what better time to jump ahead

five months and predict what teams will play in the Bowl

Championship Series and who wins it all. Remember, it’s no fun to

pick the obvious.

Rose Bowl. TCU (at-large) vs. Oregon (Pac-10 champion). The

Pac-10 might be the toughest conference in the country to forecast.

The Ducks won’t miss quarterback Jeremiah Masoli all that much and

they make it two straight Rose Bowl appearances. The Horned Frogs

become the first team from a non-automatic qualifying conference to

play in the Rose Bowl.

Fiesta Bowl. Oklahoma (Big 12 champion) vs. Connecticut (Big

East). The Sooners bounce back from a messy 8-5 season to reclaim

the Big 12 and earn a chance to snap their BCS losing streak at

three games. The second-toughest conference to predict is the Big

East. The experienced and well-coached Huskies earn their first BCS


Orange Bowl. Miami (ACC champion) vs. Nebraska (at-large). The

rebirth of Miami and Nebraska as elite programs leads to an Orange

Bowl matchup that has decided national championships in the past.

Soon we might see the Hurricanes and Cornhuskers playing each other

for national titles again.

Sugar Bowl: Alabama (at-large) vs. Ohio State (at-large). The

preseason favorites to reach the BCS title game will both be

relegated to second-best in their conferences. The Buckeyes get yet

another postseason opportunity to show they can keep pace with the


BCS championship in Glendale, Ariz. Florida (SEC champion) vs.

Wisconsin (Big Ten champion). The Gators have more than enough

talent to make another run at the national championship. The only

thing they lack is experience. And even if they lose to Alabama in

Tuscaloosa on Oct. 2, they will get another shot at the Tide in

Atlanta for the SEC title in December. The Badgers clear the only

major hurdles on a manageable schedule by beating Ohio State at

home and Iowa on the road in consecutive October weekends and play

for their first national title.

BCS champion: Make it five straight for the SEC and three

championships in five seasons for Urban Meyer and the Gators.