Pac-12 suspends line judge after botched “extra down” call in ASU-WSU

Pac-12 has suspended a line judge for the missed call vs. WSU.
Lance King/Getty Images

Arizona State vs. Washington State featured another controversial call; for the second week in a row ASU suffered from the misjudgment. 

ASU was also victim of missed calls during the loss to Oregon, when receiver Bralon Addison appeared to step out of bounds on a triple overtime touchdown. This week, AZ Central reports Pac-12 has suspended line judge Rich Troyer one game for giving Washington State an extra down during the second quarter. 

The following text is a statement from the Pac-12:

“The Pac-12 has reviewed the play and has determined it should have been stopped at the point when the whistle blew as forward progress was stopped short of the first down. The ball should have been turned over to Arizona State on downs.

As a result, the officiating crew erred in ruling this an inadvertent whistle and not officiating the initial whistle as the end of the play.”

(h/t AZ Central)

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our College Football newsletters.