Oklahoma got away with a free touchdown against Ohio State

Referees are not infallible, and that’s why we have video replay.

But what happens when the video replay system isn’t used?

We found out Saturday night when Oklahoma running back Joe Mixon “scored” a touchdown in the first quarter to pull the Sooners within a touchdown of Ohio State.

But video replay showed that Mixon didn’t cross the goal line with the ball — he clearly dropped it before he crossed the plane.

The play was not reviewed, so the touchdown stood. No one could say what would have happened had the fumble been caught by the officials — either on the field or in the booth — but in a game with so much on the line, that’s a question no one should have to ask.