Oklahoma Football: Bob Stoops, Orlando Brown Receive Big 12 Honors

Oklahoma football added more hardware to its already jam-packed trophy case on Wednesday when the Big 12 named Bob Stoops and offensive lineman Orlando Brown as individual award winners for the 2016 college football season.

Sep 17, 2016; Norman, OK, USA; Oklahoma Sooners head coach Bob Stoops reacts to a play against the Ohio State Buckeyes in the first quarter at Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark D. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Stoops, who is in his 18th season as the Sooners’ head coach, was named Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year. The conference also named OU sophomore Orlando Brown as Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Stoops led Oklahoma to a 10-2 overall record this season and a perfect 9-0 in Big 12 play, the third time the Sooners have gone undefeated in a season since the Big 12 was formed in 1996. This is the third time Stoops has been named Coach of the Year by the league coaches.

The OU head coach won his 10th Big 12 championship this season and has the Sooners headed to the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 2 against Auburn, the second highest-ranked team in the SEC.

Oklahoma has been to a bowl game all 18 seasons that Stoops has been at Oklahoma.

Brown, a sophomore, anchored an Oklahoma front line that led the way for the country’s third-ranked offense. The Sooners’ averaged 557 yards of offense per game this season.

The award selections were made by the 10 Big 12 head coaches.

Big 12 Football 2016 Individual Award Winners

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Jordan, Willis, DE, Sr., Kansas State Wildcats

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Orlando Brown, So., Oklahoma Sooners

Special Teams Player of the Year: Michael Dixon, P, So., Texas Longhorns

Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year: Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: D.J. Reed, DB, Jr., Kansas State Wildcats

Offensive Freshman of the Year: Justice Hill, RB, Fr., Oklahoma State Cowboys

Defensive Player of the Year: Jordan Willis, DE, Sr., Kansas State Wildcats

Defensive Freshman of the Year: Reggie Walker, DE, Fr., Kansas State Wildcats

This article originally appeared on