Ohio State star Ezekiel Elliott picks up pair of Big Ten season awards

Ezekiel Elliott is the second Ohio State running back to be named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year.
Matthew Emmons/Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Ohio State star running back Ezekiel Elliott was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year on Tuesday night while also being named the best player in the conference at his position. 

Neither of those things came as too much of a surprise as Elliott led the conference in rushing (1,672 yards) and rushing touchdowns (19). He tied Indiana kicker Griffin Oakes for the Big Ten’s scoring lead at 9.5 points per game. 

An Ohio State player has won the conference offensive player of the year award seven times, including three of the four years since Urban Meyer became head coach in Columbus as Braxton Miller won it in 2012 and ’13. 

The only other Ohio State running back to win the award was Eddie George in 1995. 

Other OSU Big Ten OPOWs are Orlando Pace (1996), Joe Germaine (1998) and Troy Smith (2006). 

Elliott was joined on the 2015 All-Big Ten first team by offensive linemen Taylor Decker and Pat Eflein. Decker was also named Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year. 

Receiver Michael Thomas and offensive linemen Billy Price and Jacoby Boren made the third team while receivers Braxton Miller and Jalin Marshall and tight end Nick Vannett received honorable mention. 

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our College Football newsletters.