Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly wins Eddie Robinson Award

Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly won the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach

of the Year Award on Thursday after leading to the Fighting Irish

to their first unbeaten regular season since 1988 and a spot in the

BCS national championship game.

Kelly, in his third season at Notre Dame, won the award in

voting by the 1,200-member Football Writers Association of America.

He is the fourth Notre Dame coach to receive the award, following

Ara Parseghian in 1964, Lou Holtz in 1988 and Charlie Weis in


Notre Dame will face Alabama in the title game Jan. 7 in