Malzahn is Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year winner

Auburn’s Gus Malzahn is the winner of the Eddie Robinson Coach

of the Year Award presented by the Football Writers Association of


Malzahn had led the Tigers (12-1) to the BCS national

championship game in his first season after taking over a team that

went 3-9 in 2012.

He is the third coach to win the award in the first season with

a school, joining Ralph Friedgen of Maryland in 2001 and Tom Cahill

of Army in 1966.

Malzahn is also the second Auburn coach to win the award, along

with Terry Bowden in 1993.