LSU players come up empty-handed at College Football Awards

A host of the NCAA’s best athletes, including LSU Football members, gathered together on Thursday night in Atlanta, GA at the College Football Hall of Fame for the annual Home Depot College Football Awards.

The event gave recognition to some of the sport’s best athletes, and the LSU Tigers had the honor of having two players nominated to receive their position’s respective awards. These players were center Ethan Pocic, nominated for the Remington Award and defensive back Tre’Davious White, nominated for the Jim Thorpe Award.

Unfortunately, neither player left Atlanta with an award in hand. Regardless, both players had excellent season this year, and were still thankful for their opportunity to be recognized at such a prestigious event.

“Since my godbrother Morris Claiborne won it, it was a lifelong dream, I always wanted to be here,” White stated of the Jim Thorpe Award. “I wanted to do everything he did. Man, I’m just thankful, I’m a blessed guy.”

Below is a full list of nominees and winners for each of the 2016 Home Depot College Football Awards:

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year)

Lamar Jackson, QB (winner) – Louisville

Baker Mayfield, QB – Oklahoma

Jabril Peppers, LB/S – Michigan

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player)

Jonathan Allen, DE (winner) – Alabama

Myles Garrett, DE – Texas A&M

Jabrill Peppers, LB/S – Michigan

Ray Guy Award (Punter)

Michael Dickson – Texas

Cameron Johnston – Ohio State

Mitch Wishnowsky (winner) – Utah

Biletnikoff Award (Wide Receiver)

Austin Carr – Northwestern

Zay Jones – East Carolina

Dede Westbrook (winner) – Oklahoma

Lou Groza Award (Place-Kicker)

Daniel Carlson – Auburn

Zane Gonzalez (winner) – Arizona State

Younghoe Koo – Georgia Southern

Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)

Pat Elflein – Ohio State

Cody O’Connell – Washington State

Cam Robinson (winner) – Alabama

John Mackey Award (Tight End)

Jake Butt (winner) – Michigan

O.J. Howard – Alabama

Jordan Leggett – Clemson

Davey O’Brien Award (Quarterback)

Lamar Jackson – Louisville

Baker Mayfield – Oklahoma

Deshaun Watson (winner) – Clemson

Doak Walker Award (Running Back)

Dalvin Cook – Florida State

D’Onta Foreman (winner) – Texas

Donnel Pumphrey – San Diego State

Rimington Award (Center)

Pat Elfein (winner) – Ohio State

Tyler Orlosky – West Virginia

Ethan Pocic – LSU

Jim Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)

Adoree’ Jackson (winner) – USC

Jourdan Lewis – Michigan

Tre’Davious White – LSU

Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service)

Garrett Adcock – New Mexico

Trevor Knight (winner) – Texas A&M

Christian McCaffrey – Stanford

Want your voice heard? Join the Death Valley Voice team!

The last time the Tigers took home an award was in 2011, when star corner back Tyrann Mathieu came away with the Chuck Bednarik award. The LSU football program will be hoping to have success once more when the College Football Awards come around again next year.

This article originally appeared on