K-State’s Burns earns Big 12 nod as top special teams player

Kansas State kick returner Morgan Burns was named the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year on Wednesday.
Michael C. Johnson/Michael C. Johnson-USA TODAY Spo

With four kickoff returns for touchdowns and fifth off a blocked punt, Kansas State senior Morgan Burns was named the Big 12’s Special Teams player of the Year on Wednesday.

The senior, who was also named an honorable mention defensive back, has scored a touchdown in four consecutive games despite never lining up with K-State’s offense. He helped propel the Wildcats to three consecutive victories to end the season at 6-6 and qualify for a bowl berth. K-State will take on Arkansas in the Liberty Bowl.

Senior lineman Cody Whitehair, senior kicker Jack Cantele and freshman fullback Winston Dimel were named to the All-Big 12 first team, while senior defensive tackle Travis Britz and sophomore linebacker Elijah Lee were named to the second team.

For the entire All-Big 12 awards list, click here.

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our College Football newsletters.