Indiana’s Howard, Feeney named first-team All-Big Ten

Jordan Howard had a great first season in Bloomington.
Marc Lebryk/Marc Lebryk-USA TODAY Sports

Indiana football place a pair of players on the All-Big Ten first team: Running back Jordan Howard and right guard Dan Feeney. 

Fenney helped pave the way for Howard, a UAB transfer, to run for 1,212 yards in just nine games. His average of 134.8 wards per game is second in the Big Ten to Ezekiel Elliott. 

Feeney is the first Indiana offensive lineman to make the All-Big Ten first team since Ian Beckles and Ron Vargo in 1989 while Howard gives IU back-to-back running backs on the squad. Tevin Coleman made it last year. 

Earlier in the week, Griffin Oakes was named Big Ten Kicker of the Year and first-team All-Big Ten, giving the Hoosiers three all-conference selections in the same year for the first time since 2007. 

Offensive tackle Jason Spriggs made the All-Big Ten second team while quarterback Nate Sudfeld was third-team despite leading the conference in both passing yards and passer efficiency rating. 

Receiver Simmie Cobbs Jr., tight end Michael Cooper, defensive linemen Darius Latham and Nick Mangieri, linebackers Marcus Oliver and Zach Shaw and return man Mitchell Paige all receiver honorable mention. 

MORE NEWS: Want stories delivered to you? Sign up for our College Football newsletters.